Dakar 2024: Baumgart and Andreotti have their best day at the Dakar and finish among the 8 fastest in the cars

Dakar 2024: Baumgart and Andreotti have their best day at the Dakar and finish among the 8 fastest in the cars

Share this content:
Pin It

The Brazilians from X-Rally remain in 12th place overall in the category with just two stages to go before the end of the toughest rally on the planet

Wednesday (17) marked the tenth and antepenultimate stage of the Dakar 2024, on a "loop" section, starting and finishing in Al'Ula, with a total of 612 kilometers, of which 371 were against the clock. The day marked the best stage result for the X Rally duo, made up of Brazilians Cristian Baumgart and Beco Andreotti.

The four-time Sertões champions finished the stage in the cars with the eighth best time of the day. "It was a very complete stage, with lots of everything: navigation, difficult driving, lots of straights to accelerate, sand, rocks, lots of references. It was spectacular. The difficulty of the day was overtaking the bikes - and there were a lot of them - but we rode safely at a great pace," said Cristian Baumgart.

"Everything came together - riding and navigation without mistakes - but it was a very difficult special, with rocks, dunes and a lot of navigational demands. Tomorrow will be an even more difficult day and we'll try to do a good race calmly," added Beco Andreotti.

The Brazilians from X Rally are still in 12th place overall among the cars. The 11th and penultimate stage of the Dakar 2024 will be held on Thursday (18) with 587 kilometers between Al'Ula and Yanbu, which is already the final destination of the race, with 480 kilometers valid for the stopwatch.

The X Rally Team is sponsored by Vedacit, Motul, BF Goodrich, Rodobens, Center Norte, Rock and Opaoma.

Results - STAGE 10 - CARS (Top-5)
17/01 - Al Ula > Al Ula - 371 kms
1. Guerlain Chicherit/Alex Winocq (Toyota) - 3h19min27s
2. Brian Baragwanath/Leonard Cremer (Century) - +5min43s
3. Benediktas Vanagas/Kuldar Sikk (Toyota) - +6min04s
4. Eugenio Amos/Paolo Ceci (Toyota) - +6min09s
5. Romain Dumas/Max Delfino (Toyota) - +7min12s
8. Cristian Baumgart/Alberto Andreotti (Prodrive) - +11min21s

1. Carlos Sainz/Lucas Cruz (Audi) - 41h35min12s
2. Sebastian Loeb/Fabian Lurquin (Prodrive) - +13min22s
3. Lucas Moraes/Armand Monleon (Toyota) - +1h02min44s
4. Guillaume de Mevius/Xavier Panseri (Toyota) - +1h27min09s
5. Guerlain Chicherit/Alex Winocq (Toyota) - +1h47min55s
12. Cristian Baumgart/Alberto Andreotti (Prodrive) - +3h33min53ss


Automatic translation of the Brazilian Portuguese version available on
Source: X-Rally Team's official press release
Photo: A.S.O. / DPPI

Share this content:
Pin It

More from the same region

As a service to the sport we all love and follow, Rally-Raid Network posts numerous media releases from a wide variety of sources on our website. Due to the large number, and some times short time available, it is nearly impossible to review each public release. These articles are written by reporters or press officers who work for various organizers, teams, drivers, riders, and other parties, and they do not necessarily reflect the opinions of Rally-Raid Network.