Rally Adventure Galicia 2024. Mario Lahoz achieves the first position in the prologue in A Estrada.

Zaragoza native Mario Lahoz Tolosana secures the best time in the prologue of the A Estrada Rally, valid for the European and Spanish Rally TT Championships and for the Adventure Galicia championship, in a tumultuous start to the rally.

At five in the afternoon, the prologue began on a sunny day with perfect temperature for rally raid practice. A 4 km liaison separated the bivouac from the start of a special stage of just 7 km that should determine the starting order for the first stage the following day.

Only thirty-three pilots finished the prologue due to a serious accident that ultimately stopped the race, neutralizing it for the remaining pilots who had not yet started.

Czech driver Marcim Somolski suffered a serious accident shortly after starting the timed section, requiring his immediate evacuation. Afflicted with pain but never losing consciousness, the pilot was airlifted to the University Hospital of Santiago de Compostela.

Mario Lahoz stopped the clock at 5 minutes and 43 seconds, just 3 seconds ahead of the winner of the previous edition of the A Estrada Rally, Dakar veteran Joan Pedrero, who claimed second place. Guillem Martínez, a Catalan based in Senegal, took third place with a time of 5 minutes and 53 seconds, while Miguel Gutierrez, with just three tenths more than Guillem, secured fourth place, and Javi Vega closed the top five with only 12 seconds more than the prologue winner. Five pilots in a heartbeat.

Mario Lahoz: "I actually felt quite comfortable. The terrain surprised me considering how wet it was. It had good grip, held on quite well, really. Looking forward to tomorrow and hoping the weather holds up a bit and it doesn't rain on us."


Source: Pablo Pillado. Photos: Ingine Creators