Rally TT Jaen Mar de Olivos 2023: Portuguese duo steals the victory from the Spanish

José Henrique Silva /  Henrique Damásio took their Proto to the victory in Spain

Jaen hosted this weekend the first race of the Spanish Rally-Raid Championship, more specifically the fifth edition of the Rally TT Jaén Mar de Olivos, which returned to this city after a few years of absence.

The race was composed of a prologue and two timed sections on Saturday, ending on Sunday with just one section.

Although the race doesn't count for the Portuguese championship, several teams from the neighbor country came to Spain to face the locals, in anticipation of the Baja TT Dehesa de Extremadura, which will be held in a few weeks and will be valid for both the Spanish and Portuguese championship.

It was precisely a Portuguese team that won the race, the duo composed by José Henrique Silva and Henrique Damásio with a Mercedes Proto X produced by CaTTiva.

In second place finished the first of the SSVs squadron, driven by Roberto Gamboa accompanied by Herman Gaboa,  wich was a Herrador HRX-3, entered in the T3 category, which they won.

In third place was another SSV, this time the first classified in category T4, which was the Can-Am Maverick driven by the duo Fidel Castillo and Marc Sola.

Thus, the first podium of the 2023 Spanish Championship ended with the curious configuration of having a winner from a different class in each of the first three places.

As for the SSV classification, which runs in a different category from the FIA T3 and FIA T4, the winner was Miquel Martinez on a Yamaha.

Finally in T8, Raul Ortiz Correa won in a Toyota RAV 4.

The Spanish championship will continue from April 14 to 16 with the Baja TT Dehesa de Extremadura where a great Iberian duel is expected.



Rally-Raid Network
Photo Rally-Raid Network / Imagens Desportivas