Baja Oeste Portugal 2023: Bruno Santos is the first leader of Baja Oeste de Portugal

Baja Oeste Portugal 2023: Bruno Santos is the first leader of Baja Oeste de Portugal

Share this content:
Pin It

João Vale leads the quads
Roberto Borrego set the best time among the SSVs

The Baja Oeste de Portugal 2023 has started and Bruno Santos is the first leader in the motorcycle category. The Escuderia Castelo Branco event, which this year is being held in Cadaval, saw João Vale take the lead in the quads, while in the SSVs, first place went to Roberto Borrego and André Lopes.

In the motorcycles, Bruno Santos, on a Husqvarna, was the fastest over the 6.07 kilometers of the course laid out near A-Dos-Cunhados and left the defending national champion, António Maio (Yamaha), 4.1 seconds behind. Gustavo Gaudêncio, on a Honda, was third fastest and starts the first selective sector with a 7.7-second deficit to Santos.

"It went well. I was hoping for a top three result because I've been improving more and more. I'm coming back from an injury suffered two years ago. I only started riding a motorcycle, still with a lot of limitations, at the beginning of this year. This race is a bit more my style. It's a region I'm relatively used to. I was able to ride well, ride at ease and I'm very pleased with the result achieved in the prologue," said Bruno Santos, who is making his debut in the Baja Oeste de Portugal.

Top three quads separated by 4.3 seconds

If João Vale, on a Can Am, was the strongest of the competitors in the quads category, the second and third fastest were tied on time. Luís Fernandes, on a Yamaha, took second place, while Tomás Paulo, also on a Yamaha, was third. Both lost just 4.3 seconds to Vale, which suggests a very close battle over the next two days of competition.

joao vale 6 10 w


Borrego and Lopes "clean up" the prologue in the SSVs

The SSV category was the one in which the differences were most evident. Roberto Borrego and André Lopes, who race in Can Am, took just over six minutes on the prologue course, but left the second fastest team, made up of João Monteiro and Nuno Morais - also in Can Am - 7.8 seconds behind. Pedro Pinha and Joaquim Dias (Can Am) took 13.5 seconds longer than Borrego and Lopes.

Tomorrow, the teams will be back in action at 7.45 a.m. for the first run on the track. In total, the competitors will cover almost 200 kilometers against the clock.

borrego 6 10 w


Automatic translation from the original Portuguese version published on
Source Escuderia de Castelo Branco / Baja Oeste

Share this content:
Pin It

More from the same region

As a service to the sport we all love and follow, Rally-Raid Network posts numerous media releases from a wide variety of sources on our website. Due to the large number, and some times short time available, it is nearly impossible to review each public release. These articles are written by reporters or press officers who work for various organizers, teams, drivers, riders, and other parties, and they do not necessarily reflect the opinions of Rally-Raid Network.