Silk Way Rally 2019:  Silk Way Rally is in the FIM Cross-Country World Championship for the 1st time!

Silk Way Rally 2019: Silk Way Rally is in the FIM Cross-Country World Championship for the 1st time!

Pin It

2nd leg of FIM Cross-Country Rally Championship 

Irkutsk is the most populate city in Eastern Siberia and is located about 60 km from Lake Baikal. The city will host administrative and technical checks for the 2019 Silk Way Rally. round two of the FIM Cross-Country Rally Championship. 
Twenty-eight motorcycle and quad riders will take part in this new adventure that will take them from Russia to China’s Gobi desert, crossing Northern Mongolia to the south over the space of 10 days.
The Silk Way Rally welcomes motorcycles and quads for the first time this year. On this second round of the FIM Cross-Country Rallies World Championship, Sam Sunderland (KTM) will be hoping to continue the form he showed at round one. He currently leads the championship standings on his KTM. 
Luciano Benavides and Laia Sanz will be at his side, while Andrew Short will be the only rider to represent Husqvarna. 
Honda fields the racing trio of Kevin Benavides, Juan Barreda and Jose Cornejo, while Yamaha has entered the event with Adrien Van Beveren, Xavier de Soultrait and Franco Caimi. 
Portugal’s Paulo Gonçalves has switched to the Hero team, who have also recruited Oriol Mena.
In the quad category, Rafal Sonik and Aleksandr Maksimov will ride Yamahas while Lindner has a Can-Am.
Toby Price (KTM), Pablo Quintanilla (Husqvarna) and Matthias Walkner (KTM) are missing and are slowly recovering from their Dakar injuries.  
The ninth edition of the Silk Way Rally features a route of 5,007.96km, including 2,593.15km of selective sections. Riders will cross the Taiga of Eastern Siberia, bypassing Lake Baikal to embark on the Mongolian steppes, before attacking the towering dunes dotted with oases in the Gobi desert.
The rally has a unique course with breathtaking landscapes. It is a special adventure!  

• July 7, 2019  
SS1: Irkutsk - Baikalsk (Russia)  
Total: 255.53km including 50.87km in Special

•July 8, 2019 
2nd Leg: Baikalsk - Ulan-Ude (Russia)  
Total : 413,63 km including 212,02 km in Special

•July 9, 2019 
3rd Leg: Ulan-Ude - Ulaanbaatar (Mongolia) 
Total : 691,35 km including 243 km in Special

•July 10, 2019 
4th Leg: Ulaanbaatar - Ulaanbaatar (Mongolia) 
Total: 476,96 km including 470,19 km in Special

•July 11, 2019 
5th Leg: Ulaanbaatar - Mandalgovi (Mongolia) 
Total: 364,59 km including 337 km in Special

•July 12, 2019 
6e étape : Mandalgovi - Dalanzadgad (Mongolia) 
Total: 411,75 km including 408,17 km in Special

•July 13, 2019 
7th Leg: Dalanzadgad - Bayinbaolige (China) 
Total: 550.66km including 370.37km to the border and 180.29 km to the border ... 
No special, crossing the Chinese border.

•July 14, 2019 
8th Leg: Bayinbaolige - Alashan (China) 
Total: 785,11 km including 326,60 km in Special

•July 15, 2019 
9th Leg: Alashan - Jiayuguan (China) 
Total: 501,20 km including 290,30 km in Special

•July 16, 2019 
10th Leg: Jiayuguan - Dunhuang (China) 
Total: 556,66 km including 255 km in Special

Source FIM's official press release

Photo RallyZone

Pin It

Related Articles