ADDC 2022: ADDC: Podium for Przygonski

ADDC 2022: ADDC: Podium for Przygonski

Pin It
Przygonski finishes third
Bad luck for Schott and Krotov

Jakub “Kuba” Przygonski and Timo Gottschalk finished third in a MINI JCW Buggy at the Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge, round two of the newly-formed FIA World Rally Raid Championship. Their team-mates were out of luck at the desert rally: Stephan Schott and Philipp Beier retired with technical issues. Meanwhile, the event was over before it even started for the MINI JCW Buggy crew of Denis Krotov and Konstantin Zhiltsov: Krotov discovered shortly after the technical checks that he had tested positive for COVID-19.

For Przygonski and Gottschalk, the key to success was consistency. The MINI JCW Buggy pairing came through the stages without any major problems. Compared to the 4x4, the rear-wheel drive car had to contend with a few disadvantages in the soft sand of Abu Dhabi. However, many of their rivals had to cope with at least one extremely costly incident, which allowed Przygonski and Gottschalk to take third place overall.

Kuba Przygonski: “That was not an easy rally for us. We reached the finish and scored valuable points – we must be satisfied with that. The 4x4 were simply better suited to this terrain, with its many high and difficult dunes.”

The Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge is actually Stephan Schott’s favourite rally. This year, however, it brought the German no luck. His co-driver Filipe Palmeiro tested positive for coronavirus shortly before leaving Portugal, and consequently had to pull out. Fortunately, Philipp Beier, who started the Dakar in an X-raid race truck, was able to step in. However, a technical issue unfortunately forced the duo to retire after day three.

The Rally Kazakhstan, round three of the FIA World Rally Raid Championship, was initially scheduled to take place at the end of April 2022. However, in light of current events, a possible postponement is being discussed.

ADDC overall standings
1. S. Peterhansel / E. Boulanger – Audi – 17h 43m 07s
2. M. Prokop / V. Chytka – Ford – 18h 12m 56s
3. J. Przygonski / T. Gottschalk – MINI JCW Buggy – 19h 12m 00s
4. S. Loeb / F. Lurquin – BRX – 19h 35m 18s
5. N. Al-Attyiah / M. Baumel – Toyota – 37h 27m 20s

Source X-Raid

Pin It

Related Articles