Rali dos Sertões 2021:  Rain force cancelation of the last stage and define winners a day earlier

Rali dos Sertões 2021: Rain force cancelation of the last stage and define winners a day earlier

Pin It

With the cancellation of Sertoes Rally's final special stage due to rain, competitors will move from Arapiraca (AL) to Tamandaré (PE), where the winners of the 2021 edition will be confirmed.  Saturday's stage, the penultimate of the rally,  caused a turnaround in the classification of the cars in the final timed section of this year's Sertões Rally.

Nine days after hitting the road to face a 3,615km challenge through seven northeastern states, the Sertões 2021 returns to the coast. If the biggest rally of the Americas started in Pipa (RN), the end happens in another paradisiacal point: Praia dos Carneiros, in Tamandaré (PE). The ideal scenario to consecrate the champions of the 2021 edition, virtually defined this Saturday, in the eighth stage, which took the caravan from Delmiro Gouveia to Arapiraca, in Alagoas.  Sunday's special was canceled due to the effects of the rains in the region where the race will pass, and so Saturday's stage had become the final competitive stage of Sertoes 2021. It was still necessary, however, to get the vehicles moving until the end of the off-road marathon.

The 'Alagoas' stage summed up what this edition of the Sertões was all about: variety of surfaces, trial stretches, rocks, mountain crossings, and a lot of navigation. For those who were ahead in motorcycles, quads, and UTVs, with a comfortable advantage, the challenge was to maintain concentration and avoid unnecessary risks, which worked out well. With this, the competitors who had a wide advantage the day before: Frenchman Adrien Metge on two wheels; Argentinean Manuel Andujar (quad) and the duo Denísio Casarini/Ivo Mayer (Can-Am) practically put both hands on the trophy.

As for the Cars, the eighth stage caused a turnaround in the duel between the Baumgart brothers, with Toyota Hilux. Marcos (with Kleber Cincea) led the first week of the race, followed closely by Cristian/Beco Andreotti, who attacked in the last 152.2 km of the race and ended up favored by a problem in the transmission of Marcos' pickup truck to take the lead at the most important moment, and won the day.

In the quad bikes, Marcelo Medeiros showed he is fully recovered from the accident the day before (as well as his machine) to be the fastest, followed by Andujar. Gregório Caselani put Honda ahead in the bikes, with virtual champion Metge in second.

Among the SSVs, Portuguese Alexandre Miguel/Fausto Mota (Can-Am) became the seventh different winner in eight stages. They beat Cristiano Batista/Robledo Nicoletti (Can-Am) and Fábio Pirondi/Marcelo Ritter (Can-Am).

The displacement of this last day of the rally will be 320km long, with a maximum time of six hours to be completed by the competitors. At the end, the consecration on the arrival ramp with the delivery of medals to all who completed one of the most technical and beautiful Sertões in 29 years of history.

Gregório Caselani (Motorcycles)

"Today's special was a lot of fun, with a lot of gravel, the bike from one side to the other. Some very nice trail sections. Happy to be the fastest of the day."

Marcelo Medeiros (Quads)

"It was good to get here, it was one of the most difficult rallies I've participated in, with long specials, sections with a high degree of difficulty, but I'm happy to have completed it and to know that we are competitive."

1) #4 Adrien Metge, (1)MT1, Yamaha WR450F, 30h06min12
2) #3 Jean Azevedo, (2)MT1, Honda CRF450RX, 30h22min40
3) #6 Bissinho Zavatti, (1)MT2, Honda CRF450RX, 30h40min06
4) #5 Túlio Malta, (2)MT2, Yamaha WR450F, 30h55min55
5) #7 Gregório Caselani, (3)MT2, Honda CRF450RX, 28h09min28

1) #107 Manuel Andujar, Yamaha Raptor 700, 29h46min16
2) #101 Rafal Sonik, Yamaha Raptor, 31h54min42
3) #100 Marcelo Medeiros, Yamaha YFM700R, 37h03min53

1) #201 Denísio Casarini/Ivo Meyer, (1)UT1, Can-Am Maverick X3, 30h36min29
2) #250 André Hort/Matheus Mazzei, (2)UT1, Can-Am Maverick X3, 30h52min40
3) #202 Rodrigo Luppi/Maykel Justo, (3)UT1, Can-Am Maverick X3, 30h55min15
4) #267 João Monteiro/Victor Melo, (4)UT1, Can-Am Maverick X3, 30h58min5
5) #211 Gabriel Cestari/Jhonatan Ardigo, (1)UT2, Can-Am Maverick X3, 31h11min13

1) #302 Cristian Baumgart/Beco Andreotti, (1)T1 FIA, Toyota Hilux IMA 2021, 28h55min21
1) #301 Marcos Baumgart/Kleber Cincea, (2)T1FIA, Toyota Hilux IMA 2021, 29h03min39
3) #315 Sylvio de Barros/Rafael Capoani, (3)T1 FIA, Toyota Hilux IMA 2021, 29h42min46
4) #368 Julio Capua/Emerson Cavassin, (4)T1FIA, Toyota Hilux V8, 30h25min15
5) #373 Marcelo Gastaldi/Cadu Sachs, (5)T1 FIA, Buggy Century CR-6, 30h29min57


Automatic translation from Sertoes Rally's official press release
Photo:  X-Rally / Marcelo M de Melo

Pin It

Related Articles